Nathan Dinsdale’s coverage of the Westboro Baptist Church

Though I haven’t met him yet, I know what I’ll want to talk about the first time I meet new Citybeat music editor Nathan Dinsdale, and it ain’t Grand Ole Party: Dinsdale has interviewed Fred Phelps.

If you don’t know who Fred Phelps is, well, he’s this guy:

And no, he’s not taking that sign down, as I would expect a good Christian to do. Phelps–in addition to looking like the prematurely aged love child of George Strait and Macho Man Randy Savage–is pastor of the Westboro Baptist Church and is famous for his touring “God hates fags” campaign, which recently took the step of picketing soldiers’ funerals in order to draw more attention to their cause–which, in case you missed it, is simply that God hates homosexuals and will rain down vengeance on us all for tolerating homosexuality. At least in the interviews I’ve read, Phelps strikes me as a potent mixture of bat-shit insanity and media-savvy (or at least conscious) hack. I’m no psychologist, but this man seems to think about same-sex intercourse an awful lot for someone who can’t stand the concept.

The interview is pretty good. Read it in its entirety here. I just want to know what it’s like to eat crackers with a guy like this.

2 Comments

  1. [“People say we hate just because we are preaching that God hates you and you’re going to hell if you don’t repent,” Phelps says. “We never said that we hate fags. We’re the only ones who love the filthy little perverts.” ]

    Amazing.

  2. I wish I could have seen the look on his face when he got to the “filthy little perverts” part of that line.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

