HUM gets paid

It’s not a stretch to say that my favorite band is Hum. Sure, Led Zeppelin is timeless, and the Beatles are wonderful, and there are all sorts of bands that have changed my life over the years, but Hum is band that really, truly made me want to make music. I found out about them way back in 1994 when “Stars” was a minor hit on modern rock radio. I was in love. I’ve got all their records, seen a record release show by them (at the Metro for Downward is Heavenward), and got to meet them. I even asked Matt Talbott for his autograph at Club Soda in Kalamazoo, Michigan, which he probably thought was a little creepy.

Anyway, like most of my musical heroes, Hum never made shit. So, imagine my surprise today during the Chargers-Packers game when this ad comes over the airwaves:

You could have knocked me over with a cool breeze. Good for them. I hope this is paying some bills!

4 Comments

  1. I’d like the commercial better if they’d just play the whole song.

  2. I totally agree! I fell in love with Hum as well! They were a fresh American take on that showgazer sound! At the time I was listening to Slowdive, My Bloody Valentine, The Poster Children, and Gish. Love those quiet/loud dynamics!

  3. chuck looked sort of hurt when he saw it as we were watching the game. hope they got a big fat check. i wonder when we’ll see ‘lotus eaters’ on a burger king comersh? any news on that?
    🙂

  4. Hum is my favorite band as well. I saw them three times and was blown away every time. I still want to get an Orange Amp to get that Hum sound. I can get the Hum space sound with my MXR Phase 100 pedal that I remember seeing onstage back in the day.
    http://amateurchemist.blogspot.com/2007/09/hum-reunion.html


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

