Batwings in OB for Benefit this Saturday

I’ll be making my scene over at Ray at Night, but I thought I would pass along the word about an Amnesty International benefit going on in OB. The only band I recognize is the mighty Batwings, who are rehearsal space chums of ours and one of the more exciting new punk/noise bands in San Diego. I think they’re like Sonic Youth if Sonic Youth were constantly on the edge of a violent, shrieking nervous breakdown. If you know what I like, you know that that’s one of the higher compliments I’ll pay a band.

Anyway, the benefit is located at Portugalia, 4839 Newport Ave. in Ocean Beach and starts at 4 pm. It’s for Amnesty, which, whether people like it or not, has a consistent, nonpartisan message: torture is bad. When we do it. When they do it. When dogs do it.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

