The North Atlantic: drummer leaving the band (you heard it here first)

The July 27th show, at Black Box Studios in San Diego, will be my last hometown show with The North Atlantic. Our performance at Denverfest, over Labor Day weekend, will be my last show with the band, period. I’m closing in on a finished dissertation and will be setting my sights on contributing to the world through scholarship, journalism, and playing music in and around my hometown (San Diego for the present). I’d like to invite all our friends and fans in San Diego to join us on the 27th, and help us welcome our good friends Ghost Buffalo to town.

It’s fitting that my last shows will be at Black Box (in SD) and Denver, as that venue and that city really affirm my faith in the power of music to be the foundation for a community based on mutual respect and admiration. This year’s Denverfest will, I’m sure, wind up being one of my fondest memories.

Since getting started eight long years ago, Jason, Jason and I have worked to write inspired music, share it with our friends and fans and form lasting fellowship with other musicians around the country. In my opinion, we’ve been very successful at all three. I love the two of them more than I could ever adequately describe, and I wish the two of them success, courage and brilliance in all their future musical endeavors. Whatever becomes of The North Atlantic in the future, you can be sure I will be their number one fan.

Finally, I’d like to thank all of the people who have sustained our musical pursuits, in ways large and small. It means more to me than you will ever know.

Oh, and touring bands, don’t worry: my living room is still in the game!

Love,
Cullen

7 Comments

  1. I’m glad I got to see you play with TNA in Tucson a good number of times – I wish you the best in all you do Cullen! Thanks for the deep conversations and such – I really enjoyed meeting you.

  2. Le Sigh

  3. It’s been a hell of a ride, Cullen.

  4. yeesh! you know how to bring the heavy shit. see you at the show.

  5. oh, shit, i better get my CPA degree so we can start that gay accounting firm together.

  6. […] The North Atlantic: drummer leaving the band (you heard it here first) The July 27th show, at Black Box Studios in San Diego, will be my last hometown show with The North Atlantic. Our […] […]

  7. Ah, balls.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

